We have completed maintenance on DiscoverMagazine.com and action may be required on your account. Learn More

1998 Discover Technology Awards: Judges

Jul 1, 1998 5:00 AMNov 12, 2019 5:35 AM


Sign up for our email newsletter for the latest science news

Aviation & AerospaceBuzz Aldrin -- Gemini and Apollo astronaut; walked on the moon during the first lunar landing. Donald E. Fink, Jr. -- Chairman, Editorial Board Launchspace magazine. Walter "Wally" Schirra -- One of nasa's original seven astronauts; flew Mercury, Gemini, and Apollo spacecraft. Patty Wagstaff -- Three-time winner and first woman recipient of the U.S. National Aerobatic Championship Award.

Computer Hardware & ElectronicsJim Hartz -- Host of the pbs science series Innovation. Michael J. Miller -- Executive vice president, editorial director, Ziff-Davis; editor in chief, PC Magazine. Dan Muse -- Editor, Family PC magazine. Penn and Teller -- Debunkers of New Age pseudoscience; computer gear experts; rip-off artistes extraordinaire. Gary Shapiro -- President, Consumer Electronics Manufacturers Association.

Computer SoftwareStewart Cheifet -- Host and executive producer of the national pbs series The Computer Chronicles. John C. Dvorak -- Columnist for PC Magazine, PC Computing, and various international publications. Esther Dyson -- Editor, release 1.0; president, EDventure Holdings; chairman, Electronic Foundation. David Gelernter -- Professor of computer science, Yale University; author, Machine Beauty: Elegance and the Heart of Technology. Marvin Minsky -- MIT professor of computer science; pioneer of artificial intelligence; inventor, the confocal microscope.

Emerging TechnologyFreeman Dyson -- Professor emeritus, Institute for Advanced Study. Ronald Graham -- Chief scientist, at&t; Labs. Dick W. Siegel -- Chairman of the Materials Science and Engineering Department, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute. Toyoichi Tanaka -- Otto and Jane Morningstar Professor of Science, mit.

EnvironmentKathryn Fuller -- President and chief executive officer, World Wildlife Fund. Denis Hayes -- Chairman of the board, Green Seal; organizer, Earth Day 1970 and Earth Day 1990; president, Bullitt Foundation. Fred Krupp -- Executive director, the Environmental Defense Fund. Thomas E. Lovejoy -- Counselor to the Secretary for Biodiversity and Environmental Affairs, the Smithsonian Institution. Michael McCloskey -- Chairman, Sierra Club; adjunct professor of public policy, School of Natural Resources, University of Michigan.

RoboticsRonald C. Arkin -- Professor and director, Mobile Robot Laboratory, College of Computing, Georgia Tech. Maja Mataric -- Assistant professor of computer science and neuroscience; associate director, Robotics Research Lab, University of Southern California. Jonathan Mills -- Associate professor of computer science, Indiana University. Peter Will -- Director of the Enterprise Integration Systems Division, usc/Information Sciences Institute.

SightHarry Benson -- Award-winning photojournalist. Hans Fantel -- Consumer electronics columnist, the New York Times. Marvin Kitman -- Television critic; humorist; syndicated columnist for Newsday and the Los Angeles Times Syndicate. Gene Siskel -- Nationally syndicated film critic; cohost of Siskel and Ebert, the syndicated television show.

SoundRay Charles -- Jazz and blues singer, musician, and composer; recipient of the National Academy of Recording Arts & Sciences Lifetime Achievement Award. Michael Greene -- President and ceo, National Academy of Recording Arts & Sciences; presenter of the annual Grammy Awards. Todd Rundgren -- Musician, record producer, video artist, computer programmer, art and technology spokesman. Timothy White -- Editor in chief, Billboard magazine; author, Music to My Ears: The Billboard Essays, Portraits of Popular Music in the '90s, and The Entertainers; winner of ascap-Deems Taylor Award for excellence in music journalism.

Transportation Janet Guthrie -- First woman to race in the Indianapolis 500; former aerospace engineer. James R. Healey -- Automotive writer, usa Today. Maryann Keller -- President, Society of Automotive Analysts. Shirley Muldowney -- Drag racer; three-time Winston World Champion. Danny Sullivan -- Professional race car driver; 1985 winner of the Indianapolis 500; abc sports announcer for IndyCar.

Christopher Columbus Fellowship Foundation Evaluators

Aviation & AerospaceCaptain Jon A. McBride (USN, Retired) -- Cambridge Associates. Ron Sega -- Dean of Engineering and Applied Science, University of Colorado at Colorado Springs. Richard L. Young -- Builder and pilot of Wright Brothers Aircraft Replica.

Computer Hardware & ElectronicsMarc A. Auslander -- IBM Fellow, IBM Thomas J. Watson Research Center. Samuel H. Fuller -- Chief scientist and vice president, Corporate Technological Strategy and Service, Digital Equipment Corporation. Venkatesh Narayanamurti -- Dean of Engineering, University of California at Santa Barbara.

Computer SoftwareDwight M. Harris -- Professor of physics and technology, Fairmont State College, West Virginia. Rocco L. Martino -- Chairman of the board, xrt. Marvin Moody -- Attorney, Hill, Steadman & Simpson.

Emerging TechnologyMichael Gottesman -- Deputy director, Intramural Research, National Institutes of Health. Jerome P. Kassirer -- Editor in chief, New England Journal of Medicine. Donna Marie Werner -- Attorney, Fitzpatrick, Cella, Harper and Scinto.

EnvironmentMichael A. Guillen -- Senior science correspondent, abc-tv. Stephen A. Lingle -- Director, Environmental Engineering Research Division, Environmental Protection Agency. William Rutherford -- Forest Park Foundation.

RoboticsHadi A. Abu-Akeel -- Senior vice president and chief engineer, fanuc Robotics na. George E. Bekey -- Gordon Marshall Professor of Computer Science and director of robotics, University of Southern California. Joseph Engelberger -- Chairman, Helpmate Robotics.

SightKris K. Burhardt -- Vice president of technology development, Imation Corporation. Lori Gemondo -- Owner, Pearle Vision. Sam Gil -- Communications manager, Tasco.

SoundEva Franchi -- President, Sergio Franchi Music Scholarship. Kenneth D. Jacob-- Director of professional products, Bose Corporation. John A. Kleppe -- Professor of electrical engineering, University of Nevada at Reno.

TransportationCraig Breedlove -- Five-time world land-speed record holder. Lester A. Hoel -- Professor of civil engineering, University of Virginia. Joe Lorio -- Senior editor, Automobile magazine.

1 free article left
Want More? Get unlimited access for as low as $1.99/month

Already a subscriber?

Register or Log In

1 free articleSubscribe
Discover Magazine Logo
Want more?

Keep reading for as low as $1.99!


Already a subscriber?

Register or Log In

More From Discover
Recommendations From Our Store
Shop Now
Stay Curious
Our List

Sign up for our weekly science updates.

To The Magazine

Save up to 40% off the cover price when you subscribe to Discover magazine.

Copyright © 2024 Kalmbach Media Co.