Register for an account

X

Enter your name and email address below.

Your email address is used to log in and will not be shared or sold. Read our privacy policy.

X

Website access code

Enter your access code into the form field below.

If you are a Zinio, Nook, Kindle, Apple, or Google Play subscriber, you can enter your website access code to gain subscriber access. Your website access code is located in the upper right corner of the Table of Contents page of your digital edition.

The Sciences

Shuttle landing delayed until Friday

Bad AstronomyBy Phil PlaitSeptember 11, 2009 2:39 AM

Newsletter

Sign up for our email newsletter for the latest science news

[UPDATE! (Friday 13:40 MT): More bad weather in Florida is forcing a landing at Edwards Air Force base in California. De-orbit burn will be at 19:47 EDT (23:47 GMT) and touchdown at 20:53 EDT (00:53 GMT).] Bad weather at the Florida Shuttle landing site has forced a delay in the landing of Discovery until Friday. The first attempt will be for a touchdown at 17:48 EDT (21:48 GMT), and a second possibility at 19:23 EDT (23:23 GMT). They will have to do a de-orbit burn at 16:45 (20:45 GMT) for the first landing attempt, so I'll be here around then live tweeting it on my BANews Twitter stream. The weather forecast is no better tomorrow, and may be worse, so NASA may have to call up the landing site at Edwards Air Force Base in California. The Orbiter can only stay up so long with limited supplies, so bad weather in Florida may force them to land on the west coast. We'll know more as landing time approaches.

    2 Free Articles Left

    Want it all? Get unlimited access when you subscribe.

    Subscribe

    Already a subscriber? Register or Log In

    Want unlimited access?

    Subscribe today and save 70%

    Subscribe

    Already a subscriber? Register or Log In